top of page
Search

Extra blog post - To tweet or not tweet? Is a question that stands and arises.

Updated: Sep 26, 2019



Image: Provided by WIX







Twitter is one aspect of social media that I feel is an effective and valuable networking system for teachers to communicate with one another. I have quite a strong passion towards tweeting as it is a sufficient way of allowing growth to occur.


Twitter was first introduced to me in my COMMS140 class where I then learnt about the benefits and effectiveness it brought not just within the classroom but between teachers and how they communicate and share ideas. The teachers of COMMS140 all have a twitter account where they communicate thoughts and ideas on interests or even things to do with class discussions that they think will be beneficial to share. Experiencing this within my class encouraged me to make a twitter account of my own to communicate with individuals that share same passions, thoughts and ideas both at University and being a pre service teacher, while also connecting with my teachers and getting ideas and thoughts of them to build my twitter account as well as developing my resources through Colleagues and teachers for my future teaching career.



It has been clear that twitter has been a platform that is beneficial for teachers as it is discussed through O'Neil through the national education association, "once you get the hang of it, says O’Neal, Twitter is an easy, time-friendly way of connecting with other educators and engaging your students". It therefore shows the large acceptance that is becoming with twitter and this is due to the easy and successful way of communicating with both other teachers as well as students. Not only is twitter a great asset for the communication process, but, it "provides many of the same benefits as other social media but much, much faster", establishing that it can be effective in access resources much more quickly and allowing for the enhancement and growth of professional development.


As a future pre service teacher, I feel that twitter will have an effective impact on me as I will be able to gain resources and communicate with so many individuals to enhance my knowledge and ensure I am ready for my future as a teacher. This will also allow for me to enhance my own growth of professional development and gain all the resources I need for my future teaching career.



Resource:


Can Tweeting Help Your Teaching?Twitter won't change your life, but it might make your job more fun and a little easier[online article].

Retrieved from



22 views2 comments
bottom of page